The final tally

Despite a late start and the May heat, over 7,000 Parsis queued up to vote

The unofficial results started circulating on WhatsApp by 8 p.m. on Sunday, May 29, 2022. Two hours later the chief election commissioner (CEC) Cmde Aspi Marker (retd) along with election commissioner Berjis Desai announced the names of the seven winners and the other contestants for the Bombay Parsi Punchayet (BPP) trusteeship elections held through the day at five centers. A large crowd had already gathered at the J. B. Vachha School for Girls, the voting and counting venue at Dadar. As expected, Anahita Desai topped the list of candidates garnering over 1,553 more votes than her closest rival. The wife......

To read the entire article, you must be a Parsiana subscriber.

Already Subscribed? Sign in

Subscribe now to get Full Access