Commissioners for BPP trusteeship elections

Cmde Aspi Marker (retd) has been named the chief election commissioner for the next Bombay Parsi Punchayet trusteeship election by Bombay High Court Justices Shahrukh Kathawalla and Milind Jadhav. The election will be held on May 29, 2022 for seven seats.



Cyrus Bharucha, Minoo Wadia, Berjis Desai, Hoshang Sinor, Sanaya Dadachanji were shortlisted as assistant commissioners. If unable to fulfil their duties they may be replaced by Minoo Siodia, Kainaz Irani, Malcolm Siganporia and Zenobia Unwalla. The Justices had asked the lawyers and trustees to include names of women on the list too.



Public advertisements pertaining to the holding of the elections will be published in the Parsi media on or before March 21. Candidates must submit their applications by April 4 and may withdraw their candidature on or before May 8. The results of the election will be announced on May 29 or, if the counting is not completed, by May 30. The newly elected trustees will assume office on May 31.